Student Computing

CWSL graduate's network accounts remain open for one year after graduation. After this the network account expires and graduates no longer have access to data stored in Microsoft 365.   All data associated with that account will eventually be deleted.

We recommend that graduates download email to an archive file stored on their personal device or cloud account. (It is also a good idea to archive your email periodically while a law student to minimize the download file after graduation).

To archive email:

• Connect to your account using an email program
• Create an archive file in that program
• Copy or more your email messages from the server to the archive file.

Outlook creates its own archive file.  However, Outlook puts this archive file where Microsoft thinks it should go, and many people have trouble finding it later when they need it. Below are instructions on manually creating an archive file. They will provide instructions on creating an Outlook data file, also known as a PST file.

Note:  Currently, this procedure only works on Windows computers.  Microsoft has removed the ability for Outlook on Mac computers to archive email.

In Outlook, click File.

Then click Account Settings.

Click Account Settings again on the next screen:

Once in the Account Settings section, click the Data Files tab. A data file already exists for each email account. This will create a new data file in which to save email. Click the Add button.

In the next window select the location and the name of the file where the email messages will be stored.  In this example, a file named "School Stuff" will be created in the Documents folder.

Click OK and return to the Outlook Data files window to view the newly created data file.

Close the window and go back to the main email menu.

The new data file can be seen on the folder index on the left side of the screen.

Select one or more messages and drag and drop them into the new folder to move the messages from the server to the newly created data file. Alternately, right-click the messages and copy instead of moving them.  Either way, messages in the newly created folder will be saved to the desired location, instead of in the Microsoft cloud.

Sub-folders may also be created in the archive folder.