Reference Desk
- Ask Reference Librarians
Contact reference librarians, or see frequently asked questions.
The Law of the Legislative Branch
State Level, California
West's Annotated California CodesCall Number: KFC30.5 .W4 (1st Floor, Core Collection)Laws from California's legislative branch with annotations connecting you to Thomson West products. Notes of Decisions connect you with particularly important cases for interpreting and updating the statute. Use Citing References to find relevant treatises and practice guides. Start research by looking up your legal issue in the General Index or the Session Law's popular name in the Popular Name Table. Westlaw provides access to the West's Annotated California Codes, its General Index, and its Popular Name Table.
Deering's California Codes AnnotatedCall Number: KFC30.5 .D43 (1st Floor, Core Collection)Laws from California's legislative branch with annotations connecting you to LexisNexis products. Case Notes connects you with particularly important cases for interpreting and updating the statute. Use Research References & Practice Aids to find relevant treatises and practice guides. Start research by looking up your legal issue in the General Index or the Session Law's popular name in the Popular Name Table. Lexis provides access to Deering's California Codes Annotated and legacy access to its General Index.
- California Codes (California Legislature)
Laws from California's legislative branch. This is the only authenticated copy of the California Codes, and there is no accessible official print copy.
Federal Level
United States Code AnnotatedCall Number: KF62 1927 .W47 (1st Floor, Core Collection)Laws from the federal legislative branch with annotations connecting you to Thomson West products. Notes of Decisions connects you with particularly important cases for interpreting and updating the statute, and Citing References lets you find relevant treatises and practice guides. Start research by looking up your legal issue in the General Index or the Public Law's popular name in the Popular Name Table. Westlaw provides access to the United States Code Annotated, its General Index, and its Popular Name Table.
United States Code ServiceCall Number: KF62 1972 .L38 (1st Floor, Core Collection)Laws from the federal legislative branch with annotations connecting you to LexisNexis products. Case Notes connects you with particularly important cases for interpreting and updating the statute. Use Research References & Practice Aids to find relevant treatises and practice guides. Start research by looking up your legal issue in the General Index or the Public Law's popular name in the Popular Name Table. Lexis provides access to the United States Code Service, its Popular Name Table, and legacy access to the General Index.
United States CodeCall Number: KF62 2012 .A2 (1st Floor, Core Collection)Laws from the federal legislative branch.
- United States Code
Laws from the legislative branch at the federal level of the United States of America. This authenticated copy permits you to cite it as if to an official print copy.
