About this Guide
Whether you are searching for a specific article, looking for news about a topic, or just trying to read the headlines, the Library has resources to support you.
Access to most news sources requires affiliation with the law school. Except for certain historical archives, you will be prompted to sign into an institutional or individual account for access.
EMAIL NEWS ALERTS:
Set up emails by subscribing to Publication Alerts (Westlaw, LexisNexis), Newsletters (Bloomberg Law), or Create Journal Alert (Gale OneFile). Or ask a reference librarian to assist. A bell icon or RSS icon signals that updates are available.
Headline Feeds and Search Options
United States and World
- Gale OneFile News searchMajor U.S. and international full-text newspapers and newswires. Default display is "Magazines". Select "News" for complete results.
- LexisNexis Newspaper searchU.S. and World newspapers.
- Westlaw Newspaper searchMajor, specialty, and regional newspapers, plus obituary pages and college newspapers. Most major news sources included.
- Westlaw Broadcast TranscriptsTV and radio transcripts from 18 countries around the world including the US, Canada, UK, Australia, South Africa, and others. Included are extensive collections of both network and local programming. Most databases are updated daily.
California News Search
- Westlaw California NewsSearch California newspapers. Select information icon for coverage.
- LexisNexis California NewsbankSearch many California newspapers. Select information icon for coverage. Go to San Diego Union Tribune tab for local news, available through LexisNexis but not in Newsbank.
Latin America and Caribbean News
Daily newspaper in print in Library. Online access available through academic pass (below), Gale Academic OneFile, Westlaw, and LexisNexis.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Activate your individual access to the NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps by visiting the link above while on campus and connected to the California Western network. Use your California Western email address to create an account. Note the expiration date of your pass and renew by revisiting the link. (NOTE: for a print copy of today's paper ask at the Circulation Desk.) If you have an account already, then go to https://nytimes.com.
Online access available through Gale Academic OneFile and Westlaw.
Use link above to select the most current date available. RSS feed may lag a day or two.
Daily newspaper in print in Library. Online access available through Westlaw and LexisNexis.
Search options
- San Diego Union Tribune (LexisNexis)Current. Search for news or select the bell icon from this search page to set a publication alert to receive daily headlines for this source.
- San Diego Union Tribune (Westlaw)Search. Also, 10 most recent results. Create a publication alert for daily headlines.
Publication Alerts
Daily email alerts with all local articles are available through both Westlaw and LexisNexis. The articles do not seem to be organized in any particular order nor do they start with the front page. News-wire articles are not included (see Gale Academic OneFile for newswire stories).
Full text in Westlaw and LexisNexis. Subscribe to publication alerts for daily headlines (Westlaw) (LexisNexis). Indexed in Gale Academic OneFile.
Daily newspaper in print in Library. Full text in LexisNexis; subscribe to publication alerts by selecting News > Wall St. Journal and selecting the bell icon for daily headlines.