Law Library: 2025 Self-Guided Law Library Tour: 1st Floor Resources

1st Floor Map

Map of the first floor of the Law Library with four labeled areas. 1 'Circulation and Reference Area' is directly in front of and facing the main entrance on the corner of Third and Cedar. 2 The 'Reference Collection' is the only area labelled just to the left of the main entrance. 3 The 'Core Collection' is to the right of the main entrance just after passing the 'Circulation and Reference Area.' 4 The 'Collaborative Space' is a large separate room just beyond the Core Collection. 5 'Student Computer Services' is an office accessible through a door on the far side of the 'Collaborative Space.' Not labelled, but displayed, the main stairs are to the left of the main entrance to the end of the path accessible through the door to which the path leads. Just to the right of the door to the stairway is an alcove with two elevators.

Collaborative Space
(CoLab) Circulation &
Reference Areas Federal
Core California
CoreReference
Collection AmJur, C.J.S.
& CalJur 3rd Avenue Cedar Street

Core Collection Federal and California Case Law

State Level, California

Supreme Court of California

Pacific Reporter
California Reports, the official reporter
West’s California Reporter

California Courts of Appeal

West’s California Reporter
Pacific Reporter
California Appellate Reports, the official reporter

Pacific Reporter
Call Number: KF135 .P1_ (2nd Floor, Reporters & Digests)

This is a part of the regional case law reporters in West's National Reporter System. The Pacific Regional Reporter covers the judicial opinions from the state courts in what West made the pacific zone in 1883: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. This includes the Pacific Reporter (1883–1931), the Pacific Reporter Second Series (1931–2000), and the Pacific Reporter Third Series (2000–).
California Reports
Call Number: KFC45 .A2 (1st Floor, Core Collection)

This is the official reporter of the Supreme Court of California. It includes California Reports starting in 1850, California Reports 2nd Series, California Reports 3rd Series, California Reports 4th Series, to California Reports 5th Series today.
West's California Reporter
Call Number: KFC47 .C32 (1st Floor, Core Collection)

This is a part of the state case law reporter series in West's National Reporter System. This product covers opinions and decisions issued by California state courts. This includes West's California Reporter (1950–1996), West's California Reporter Second Series (1996–2003), and West's California Reporter Third Series (2003–).
California Appellate Reports
Call Number: KFC48 .A2 (1st Floor, Core Collection)

This is the official reporter for the California Courts of Appeal. This includes the California Appellate Reports (1906–1969), the California Appellate Reports 2nd Series (1969–1970), the California Appellate Reports 3rd Series (1970–1992), the California Appellate Reports 4th Series (1992–2017), and the California Appellate Reports 5th Series (2017–).

Federal Level

Supreme Court of the United States

United States Reports, the official reporter
Supreme Court Reporter
United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers’ Edition
United States Law Week

United States Courts of Appeals

Federal Reporter
Federal Appendix

United States District Courts

Federal Supplement

Core Collection Federal and California Codes

State Level, California
Core Collection

West's Annotated California Codes
Call Number: KFC30.5 .W4 (1st Floor, Core Collection)

Laws from California's legislative branch with annotations connecting you to Thomson West products. Notes of Decisions connect you with particularly important cases for interpreting and updating the statute. Use Citing References to find relevant treatises and practice guides. Start research by looking up your legal issue in the General Index or the Session Law's popular name in the Popular Name Table. Westlaw provides access to the West's Annotated California Codes, its General Index, and its Popular Name Table.
Deering's California Codes Annotated
Call Number: KFC30.5 .D43 (1st Floor, Core Collection)

Laws from California's legislative branch with annotations connecting you to LexisNexis products. Case Notes connects you with particularly important cases for interpreting and updating the statute. Use Research References & Practice Aids to find relevant treatises and practice guides. Start research by looking up your legal issue in the General Index or the Session Law's popular name in the Popular Name Table. Lexis provides access to Deering's California Codes Annotated and legacy access to its General Index.

California Codes (California Legislature)
Laws from California's legislative branch. This is the only authenticated copy of the California Codes, and there is no accessible official print copy.

Federal Level
Core Collection

United States Code Annotated
Call Number: KF62 1927 .W47 (1st Floor, Core Collection)

Laws from the federal legislative branch with annotations connecting you to Thomson West products. Notes of Decisions connects you with particularly important cases for interpreting and updating the statute, and Citing References lets you find relevant treatises and practice guides. Start research by looking up your legal issue in the General Index or the Public Law's popular name in the Popular Name Table. Westlaw provides access to the United States Code Annotated, its General Index, and its Popular Name Table.
United States Code Service
Call Number: KF62 1972 .L38 (1st Floor, Core Collection)

Laws from the federal legislative branch with annotations connecting you to LexisNexis products. Case Notes connects you with particularly important cases for interpreting and updating the statute. Use Research References & Practice Aids to find relevant treatises and practice guides. Start research by looking up your legal issue in the General Index or the Public Law's popular name in the Popular Name Table. Lexis provides access to the United States Code Service, its Popular Name Table, and legacy access to the General Index.
United States Code
Call Number: KF62 2012 .A2 (1st Floor, Core Collection)

Laws from the federal legislative branch.

United States Code
Laws from the legislative branch at the federal level of the United States of America. This authenticated copy permits you to cite it as if to an official print copy.

AmJur CJS CalJur Selected Legal Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence
Call Number: KF 154 .A52 (1st Floor, Reference)

Legal encyclopedia that summarizes legal topics in the United States of America at the federal and state levels with citations to various laws as authorities. Start your research by looking up your legal issue in its General Index. American Jurisprudence and its General Index are also available on Westlaw.
Corpus Juris Secundum
Call Number: KF 154 .C68 (1st Floor, Reference)

Legal encyclopedia that summarizes legal topics in the United States of America at the federal and state levels with citations to various laws as authorities. Start your research by looking up your legal issue in its General Index. Corpus Juris Secundum and its General Index are also available on Westlaw.
California Jurisprudence
Call Number: KFC 80 .C29 (1st Floor, Reference)

Legal encyclopedia that summarizes legal topics in California with citations to various laws as authorities. Alerts reader to legal issues where federal law can affect California law. Start your research by looking up your legal issue in its General Index. California Jurisprudence and its General Index are also available on Westlaw.
Summary of California Law by Witkin, B. E.
Call Number: KFC80 .W8 (2 Copies: 1st Floor, California Core & Reserve—Permanent)

Although not a legal encyclopedia because of its limited scope (encyclopedias are comprehensive in scope), Witkin's summarizes many legal topics in California. It is older than California Jurisprudence, and it divides the law into different topics focusing on connecting you to other Witkin sets on California Criminal Law, California Evidence, and California Procedure. Start your research by looking up your legal issue in its General Index (print only). Summary of California Law is also available on Westlaw.