Legal Encyclopedia
-
California Jurisprudence
Call Number: KFC 80 .C29 (1st Floor, Reference)Legal encyclopedia that summarizes legal topics in California with citations to various laws as authorities. Alerts reader to legal issues where federal law can affect California law. Start your research by looking up your legal issue in its General Index. California Jurisprudence and its General Index are also available on Westlaw.
Start your research on a legal matter dealing with the law of California with California Jurisprudence.
Legislative Branch
-
California Legislative InformationCalifornia legislative information that includes authenticated copies of the California State Codes and the California Constitution as well as legislative history materials since 2000. The old leginfo site is still available to search for legislative history materials from 1994 through 2016.
-
California State Legislature (Legislative Branch of California)Web site of the California State Legislature with links to the California State Assembly (lower house, 80 members) and the California State Senate (upper house, 40 members).
Executive Branch
-
California Code of RegulationsOfficial version from Westlaw is updated weekly. You can also search it by clicking in the upper right search link or look here for search help). Note that Title 24 (California Building Standards) is not included in this version because it contains copyrighted text from several model codes.
-
California Crime Data (Attorney General of California)Data and statistics on crimes in California submitted by law enforcement agencies. Includes publications on crime, juvenile justice, homicide, and hate crimes.
Judicial Branch
-
California Court of Appeal for the 4th DistrictThis in the District of the California Court of Appeal to which litigants may appeal decisions of the Superior Court of California for the County of San Diego.
-
California Courts (Judicial Branch of California)Web site of the Judicial Branch of California with pages for all the California Courts as well as the Rules of Court, the Opinions of the California Supreme Court and Court of Appeal, and California Jury Instructions.
-
Superior Court of California for the County of San DiegoThis is a Superior Court of California. The local courts in California (which had been called Municipal Courts) were merged into the State Court system.
Propositions
-
California Ballot Measures (University of California Hastings Law Library)Search ballot propositions, initiatives, and related legislative history materials from 1911 to present.
Government Web Site
-
CA.govHomepage for the State of California that includes a directory of links to state agencies.
State Bar
-
State Bar of CaliforniaPublic corporation in the judicial branch of government serves as an arm of the California Supreme Court. Members of the California Bar may practice law in California.
Research Databases
This is a list of all Research Databases that are identified containing information related to the state level of government in the United States of America for the State of California.