Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Floor Plans of the Law Library

Annotated floor plan of each floor of the library.

First Floor

The first floor holds the Reference and Core Collections. The Core Collection contains frequently used Federal and California materials. The Circulation and Reference Desks are where you may ask any question about finding materials, and the Collaborative Space is here as well.

Map of the first floor of the Law Library with four labeled areas. 1 'Circulation and Reference Area' is directly in front of and facing the main entrance on the corner of Third and Cedar. 2 The 'Reference Collection' is the only area labelled just to the left of the main entrance. 3 The 'Core Collection' is to the right of the main entrance just after passing the 'Circulation and Reference Area.' 4 The 'Collaborative Space' is a large separate room just beyond the Core Collection. 5 'Student Computer Services' is an office accessible through a door on the far side of the 'Collaborative Space.' Not labelled, but displayed, the main stairs are to the left of the main entrance to the end of the path accessible through the door to which the path leads. Just to the right of the door to the stairway is an alcove with two elevators. Collaborative
Space
Circulation &
Reference Areas
Core
Collection
Student
Computer
Services
Reference
Collection
3rd Avenue Cedar Street

Circulation & Reference Areas

Just inside the entrance students present their California Western I.D. card and other authorized patrons present their California Western Library Patron card to check out materials. The Closed Reserve Collection is available by asking at the Circulation Desk, while the Open Reserve Collection sits just across from the Circulation Desk next to the Self-Check Out Machine. Both Reserve Collections contain study aid and practice guides as well as Bar Exam preparation materials.

Reference Librarians assist patrons with legal research and finding library materials Monday through Friday. Just across from the Reference Desk are two student printers.

Reference Collection

The collection includes dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, indexes, AmJur 2nd, CJS, CalJur, and other reference titles as well as the Anti-racism Collection and the monthly Book Display.

Core Collection

The Federal Core Collection contains frequently used and foundational law and secondary resources from the federal level of government. The California Core Collection contains the same from the state level of government for the State of California.

Collaborative Space

A short distance from the main entrance, students use the Collaborative Space. Alumni may use the space and the computers for bar studies and job searching.

Copy

A copy machine, printers, and scanners are available on the first floor.

Second Floor

The second floor holds the United States case reporters and digests as well as the Library's Administrative Offices and the Online Nook. In the Broida Room is almost all of the collection that is accessible on microform, which includes extensive federal legislative history materials.

Ask a Reference Librarian for assistance with accessing any material on microform.

Map of the second floor of the Law Library with four labeled areas. Emerging from the elevator alcove one is faced with the curved wood wall that front each floors books stacks. These rows of books are labeled as containing 'Reporters and Digests.' To the right of these book stacks passing the door to the stairway on the right, the next door is a double door on the right leading to the Law Library's 'Administrative Offices.' Following the path on and to the left passing two rows of study carrels on the right the next door on the right leads to the 'Broida Room.' Passing the wall of the Broida Room on the right the space opens on the right into the 'Online Nook.' One could have also turned left outside the elevator alcove and come across these areas in reverse. Broida Room Reporters
& Digests
Administrative
Offices
Online
Nook
Online Nook

These Study Tables form the Online Nook. This is a space for students with headsets to participate in online classes. Quiet talking to participate in class is expected.

Third Floor

The third floor holds the International, Foreign, and Comparative Law Collection in addition to legal periodicals and the Library's non-law related materials. This is one of the two floors with study rooms that students can reserve at the Circulation Desk. This is the best floor for silent study; there is no food permitted on this floor, and no library tours go through this floor.

Map of the fourth floor of the Law Library with two labeled areas. Emerging from the elevator alcove one is faced with the curved wood wall that fronts each floor's books stacks. On the fourth floor these contain the 'United States Collection.' Beyond the book stacks to the left are this floor's four 'Group Study Rooms.'
Not labelled, but displayed, turning right from the elevator alcove one comes to ten study tables arranged two-deep the full length of one exterior wall. Turning left and following that wall to a corner lounge with club chairs and to the left in the next exterior wall with forty four Study Carrels arrange four-deep. 
The Problem Solving Collection described below is on the shelves furthest from the elevator. Periodicals Foreign, International,
& Comparative Collection
Group Study
Rooms
Print

A printer is available on the third and fourth floors.

Fourth Floor

The fourth floor holds the Law of the United States, but some of this content is on the first and second floors for easier access. Case reporters and digests are on the second floor, and legal encyclopedias as well as frequently used federal and California materials are on the first floor. The fourth floor also holds the Problem Solving Collection. This is one of the two floors with study rooms that students can reserve at the Circulation Desk.

Map of the fourth floor of the Law Library with two labeled areas. Emerging from the elevator alcove one is faced with the curved wood wall that fronts each floor's books stacks. On the fourth floor these contain the 'United States Collection.' Beyond the book stacks to the left are this floor's four 'Group Study Rooms.'
Not labelled, but displayed, turning right from the elevator alcove one comes to ten study tables arranged two-deep the full length of one exterior wall. Turning left and following that wall to a corner lounge with club chairs and to the left in the next exterior wall with forty four Study Carrels arrange four-deep. 
The Problem Solving Collection described below is on the shelves furthest from the elevator. United States
Collection
Group Study
Rooms
Problem Solving Collection

The six shelves in the northeast corner (to the lower right filled in with gray on the map) hold the Problem Solving Collection.

Print

A printer is available on the third and fourth floors.